Château d'Yquem is a rich history of events. It has existed since 1453 and has survived for 400 years. Several rumors have been made about the name Yquem, but the two most probable are: its Germanic origins come from such names as Ayquem, Ayquelmus, .... Yquem innovates year after year and in 1826, its owner, Mr. Sauvage, he created a cellar. An innovative creation for the time. It was in 1855, after the classification made under the reign of Napoleon III, that the castle reached the rank of 1st Grand Cru Superior. A consecration that will be maintained over the centuries and which continues to be maintained.
While the DOC for wines already existed, Bertrand de Cur Saluces (owner after the war) participated in the creation of the COA in Sauternes. In 2004, at the request of the shareholder of the LVMH group since 1999, Pierre Lurthon is head of this impressive property.